October 30, 2018

ABF driver wins national truck driver of the year award

ATA names 45-year pro from Wytheville, Va.

By DC Velocity Staff

Trade group the American Trucking Associations has named a 40-year veteran employee of ArcBest Corp., the parent of less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier ABF Freight System Inc., as its National Truck Driver of the Year, the group said Sunday.

Presented at ATA's annual conference in Austin, Texas, the award went to David Boyer of Wytheville, Va., who has been a professional driver for 45 years.

David Boyer

Boyer may have to clear space on his trophy shelf for the prize, since he has been collected driving honors for years. According to ABF, Boyer was named the Virginia Truck Driver of the Year in 2018, and was honored with the Virginia Governor's Transportation Safety Award in 2016. He is an America's Road Team Captain (2012-2011) and twice has earned recognition as a member of the ABF Freight Road Team (2010-2011, 2008-2009). Boyer has also represented ABF Freight numerous times at the National Truck Driving Championships and Virginia State Truck Driving Championships, most recently competing in August in the twin trailers category, the company said.

Other drivers honored at the event included: Scott Woodrome, a professional driver with FedEx Freight from Middletown, Ohio, who won the Bendix Grand Champion of the 2018 National Truck Driving Championship; and Phillip Pinter, a technician with FedEx Freight from Ida, Mich., who won the 2018 National Technician Skills Competition - TMC SuperTech - Grand Champion.

Resources Mentioned In This Article

Transportation Videos

Join the Discussion

After you comment, click Post. If you're not already logged in, you will be asked to log in or register.

Subscribe to DC Velocity

Feedback: What did you think of this article? We'd like to hear from you. DC VELOCITY is committed to accuracy and clarity in the delivery of important and useful logistics and supply chain news and information. If you find anything in DC VELOCITY you feel is inaccurate or warrants further explanation, please ?Subject=Feedback - : ABF driver wins national truck driver of the year award">contact Chief Editor David Maloney. All comments are eligible for publication in the letters section of DC VELOCITY magazine. Please include you name and the name of the company or organization your work for.